In order to get a Concealed Handgun Permit in North Carolina, you are required to take a State sanctioned Approved Handgun Safety Course.
This course is that Approved Handgun Safety Course and it will be accepted by the sheriff in any of the 100 counties in North Carolina.
The course is called a Handgun Safety Course but, 2 hours of the class is on the North Carolina Laws regarding concealed carry, the use of deadly force, Castle Doctrine and firearms storage and other laws. This 2 hour block is mandated by the State and keeps you from unknowingly violating a law that could put you in jail for many years to even life.
Aside from the 2 hour legal block, you will also learn the following:
- Different types of handguns
- Names of the parts of a handgun
- Proper ways to hold different handguns
- Handgun safety
- How to load a handgun
- Ammo storage and safety
- Different ways to carry concealed
- How to draw from a holster
- Pros and Cons of different concealed carry locations
- How to handle interactions with police officers while you are carrying
- Gun range rules and etiquette
- How to clean a pistol
There are two tests in the class:
- Legal Exam consisting of 20 questions
- Shooting Qualification (tests for ability to hit your target and adherence to safety rules)
Once you complete the class and pass the two tests you will have earned your certificate and can then apply for your Concealed Handgun Permit with your county sheriff.